Seventy-two members of Congress have signed a letter to President Obama, telling him to issue an Executive Order preventing federal contractors from discriminating against employees based on sexual orientation and gender identity — just as Lyndon Johnson did in 1965 prohibiting discrimination on the basis of “race, color, religion, sex or national origin.”

On Thursday we began launching calls into the offices of members of Congress who have not signed the letter.

Please take a moment to call and ask your member of Congress to sign the letter if they have not already.

We decided to tally the money these AWOL members have taken from LGBT interests such as the Human Rights Campaign, the Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund and others for their support of LGBT issues over the years.

Topping the list of non-signers is Leonard Boswell, who has hauled in $48,045.  Close on his heels is Rick Larsen with $36,550, Ed Perlmutter with $28,808, Joe Crowley with $28,325 and Debbie Wasserman-Schultz with $24,550.  In total there are 33 Democrats who have taken money for their support of LGBT issue who are no-shows on the letter.

Maplight indicates $4,723,679 in contributions from LGBT interests to Democratic and Republican members of Congress since 2000, though the numbers are no doubt much higher —  many individual contributions are not categorized with the FEC.

Many of these representatives are members of the Equality Caucus and/or co-sponsors of ENDA, and they raise considerable sums by promising support for LGBT issues.  But now that President Obama wants to take a dive on his 2008 campaign promise to support ENDA, they do not want to put pressure on him to do so and are nowhere to be found.

A 2011 report by the Center for American Progress concludes that “gay and transgender employees continue to face alarmingly high rates of discrimination in the workplace.”  There is no good reason for members of Congress who treat LGBT issues like a cash cow when it comes to election time to be AWOL when their support is needed.

Call your member of Congress and ask if they will sign the letter urging President Obama to end discrimination against LGBT employees by federal contractors with an executive order.

District Name Equality
from LGTB
IA-3 Leonard Boswell X $48,045 202-225-3806
WA-2 Rick Larsen X $36,550 202-225-2605
CO-7 Ed Perlmutter X $28,808 202-225-2645
NY-7 Joe Crowley X X $28,325 202-225-3965
FL-20 Debbie Wasserman-Schultz X X $24,550 202-225-7931
ME-2 Mike Michaud X $23,445 202-225-6306
CA-6 Lynn Woolsey X X $23,175 202-225-5161
FL-3 Corrine Brown $19,050 202-225-0123
MA-7 Ed Markey X $17,850 202-225-2836
CA-20 Jim Costa $17,050 202-225-3341
OR-4 Peter DeFazio X X $15,650 202-225-6416
MA-1 John Olver X $15,250 202-225-5335
MD-2 Dutch Ruppersberger $14,475 202-225-3061
NY-16 José Serrano X X $12,600 202-225-4361
WI-4 Gwen Moore X $12,000 202-225-4572
NY-10 Ed Towns X X $11,500 202-225-5936
UT-2 Jim Matheson X $10,500 202-225-3011
PA-1 Robert Brady X X $10,350 202-225-4731
GA-13 David Scott $10,000 202-225-2939
PA-4 Jason Altmire $10,000 202-225-2565
IN-1 Pete Visclosky $9,600 202-225-2461
NC-1 G. K. Butterfield $7,050 202-225-3101
MS-2 Bennie Thompson $7,025 202-225-5876
TN-5 Jim Cooper X $7,000 202-225-4311
Virgin Islands Christensen, Donna M. $6,550 202-225-1790
HI-2 Mazie Hirono X X $5,500 202-225-4906
OH-9 Marcy Kaptur $4,075 202-225-4146
CA-12 Jackie Speier X X $4,025 202-225-3531
WA-6 Norm Dicks X $3,600 202-225-5916
MD-3 John Sarbanes X $3,050 202-225-4016
TX-29 Gene Green $2,050 202-225-1688
GA-2 Sanford Bishop $2,025 202-225-3631
American Samoa Faleomavaega, Eni F. H. $25 202-225-8577